Tags

, , , , ,

“Volunteering is the ultimate exercise in democracy. You vote in elections once a year but when you volunteer, you vote everyday about the kind of community you want to live in.”  -Marjorie Moore

I saw this quote on the Empty Bowls Project website while I was looking for information on an article I am writing on the Memphis Empty Bowls Project (coming to you soon) for the University of Memphis campus newspaper, and I really love it. When I saw it I thought about my first blog entry that discussed the obligation, declared in the Declaration of Human Rights, that human beings have to do community service.

Moore compares volunteering to voting by calling it the “ultimate exercise in democracy.” I think it is interesting because I personally have NEVER thought of volunteering as the “ultimate exercise in democracy.” Honestly, I never thought that volunteering was even considered an important part of democracy, because voting, like Moore’s comparison, is usually thought of as the “ultimate exercise in democracy,” or definitely the main way that people exercise democracy.

